Driving laws

My state has reciprocity with Taiwan, so I’m planning on getting my license.

I just want to know if the traffic laws are more or less the same as in the us? Is there anything I should know before I start driving? I see those scooters whizzing in and out of traffic all the time and people doing funky things at red lights (turning left on red for example).

If I’m a cautious driver will that end up being more dangerous (people seem like pretty reckless drivers here). I guess I just feel a bit nervous driving in a different country.

But I really need a car since my university is all the way in muzha and I live in danhai

laws are more or less the same. adherence to the law, and enforcement are not…
with traffic im not sure it will be a pleasant drive, you are basically crossing Taipei north to south.
I would suggest a scooter / taxi to get you to the mrt and back. will probably be cheaper than owning a car

5 Likes

No right-turn on red in Taiwan. And from what I’ve heard it’s better not to move the car in case of an accident (I think that’s pretty much the opposite from the US).

4 Likes

Cheaper, maybe but I’ve looked at every route I can think of and there’s no way to do it in less than 2 hours from my apartment.

Maybe taxi. I’ll keep exploring bus routes.

its either a combination of Red+Brown line (and then you need taxi or short bus ride to get from the zoo to NCCU) , or Red+Green line, and then take a taxi from wanlong (which is longer).
you can rent a car and see how long the drive takes you, and if it saves you enough time.

1 Like

MRT would be my best option, Driving across Taipei during peek times can be very stressful.

FTFY

3 Likes