Earning a living wage on a student visa

Is it possible?

I’m currently a college student, and I’m headed to Taipei at the end of May, and will be studying there until December. I’ve previously spent a year living in Taipei after I graduated high school, so my Chinese is conversationally fluent and I know the city of Taipei really well. I’m hoping to be able to self-sufficiently live in Taipei this time around, but I only have about US $1000 saved for the trip, meaning I’m going to have to find some sort of way to make money while I’m over there. I know it’s technically illegal to teach English without a work visa and having graduated from college, but is it possible to do odd tutoring jobs and/or find a buxiban who is willing to employ me and make enough money to live comfortably?

Right now I’m still looking for places to live but I may have found a very small room that will be free if I teach one of the tenants English for a few hours a week, if the room turns out to be a bit too crappy to live in I’ll be looking for another place, but is it feasible to find a place in a decent location for around 5000 NT a month?

Thanks

Yes, it’s illegal. Yes it’s possible to work illegally, many does, but I would not recommend it. Some buxibans employ teachers illegally, maybe because it’s too expensive/too much trouble to apply for a work permit, they don’t have to pay tax/medical insurance, etc. for employees, and because they pay illegals less than legals.

Decent location for NT$ 5000? I doubt it very much.

The key is to have realistic expectations, and since you’ve been here before, you should no what I’m talking about.

Good luck.

:snerk: Having lived in Taiwan a few years ago, I’d say everything the OP proposes is eminently possible. Living in my favorite hostel costs NT$200 per day, which works out to NT$6000 per month–but I imagine you could work out a discount to bring that closer to your target of NT$5000.