Engineering/Physics/Science Jobs in Taiwan

Hi guys,

I’m currently a PhD student at a state university in the U.S.A. I have a B.S. in Electrical Engineering and plan to finish a doctorate in Physics in about two years. I’m almost 30, spent a few years in the military, and frankly after spending so much of my time abroad I don’t really care for the United States so much anymore. I worked for a while in Japan after leaving the armed forces, and I really only came back to the states for the education. My question is this:

Are there many science jobs available to foreigners in Taiwan? I spent about two months in Kaohsuing City and Taipei with a Taiwanese colleague of mine last year and ever since I have seriously considered moving. I mainly work in the semiconductor industry, but it has been really difficult to find ANY available information on non-english-teaching jobs in Taiwan. It’s like the internet sees “Taiwan” and “Job” in the same query and BAM, 10,000 links about TEA pop up. I can’t even check out job postings in Taiwan since most of the major job sites that I am familiar with have almost no listings abroad outside of the EU. I am fully willing to take any additional coursework or develop skills in other areas if that is of any benefit. Right now I am more or less gauging the possibility.

I have quite some time to go still, in the mean time I am about to start learning Mandarin in hopes of having some degree of fluency in two years time. If I decide not to move, well, Mandarin will be useful to me either way. (I’ll keep post my questions with that in the appropriate section).

Thanks! (谢谢)

Edit: I should mention that, I am not specifically seeking PhD work, or a job in Academia. I would be comfortable utilizing my engineering undergraduate degree for employment. Thus far, I have been working on my PhD “for me”, and I have no delusion about making a ton of money. I am not worried about money in the slightest.