Engineering salary in Taipei

Hi Guys,

-I’ve been working for 9 years in oil & gas & power plant industries, I’ve been offered a job in taipei, not to mention I’m Asian, so I expect less salary compared for those who hold US/British passport. The position being offered is senior engineer level. what would be the average salary for person like me?

• A bit off topic, the company is located at shilin district,Zhongshan N Rd. how much the rental around that area?

Is it a global firm or local firm?

Here’s a good comparison for wages:

Low-end buxiban teacher: 50,000 NT/Month. Usually 1 month CNY bonus

Experienced buxiban teacher: 65-70,000 NT/Month. Usually 1 month CNY bonus

Non-senior professional white person at Gigabyte/MSI/Asus: 55,000-65,000 NT a month. Usually 2-3 month CNY bonus

Experienced expat at a global company: 100-150k a month with a 2-3 month CNY bonus.

I’d ask for at least 2.5 million NT a year. Firms here love paying out salary in bonuses, so I wouldn’t be so picky about monthly salary and take a bonus.

It’s an international company, biggest epc company in Taiwan.

Do 2.5mln figures inclusive bonuses or other allowances?

@derpydogs run down is pretty spot on. I wouldn’t worry too much about how much rent is at the moment. Of course, try to get all or maybe just a portion of housing to be covered in your package.

Like many districts in Taipei, there’s high and low end apartments in the area.

To give you an idea…

I had a friend who was renting a bi-level flat (kind of like a loft apt where it’s one big room with high ceilings, but the bedroom is open air and accessed via stairs) near Jiantan MRT in a brand new building with security guard. He was paying around 32,000NT/month + approx 3000NT/month for utilities.

I had another friend renting a 3 bedroom, 2 bath flat for around 90,000NT/month in a brand new building with (a very annoying) security guard.