Even though I speak English, I can't help you

I had to call the helpline of a “digital commerce” company that handles sales of a popular software package I’ve been renewing for the past ten years. There was a deep system problem preventing my order.
So, I call the local Taiwan Help line. I ask in Chinese if anyone spoke English. No, was my response.
So, I try my best with my limited vocabulary but it was hopeless. This problem was unique and frankly should not have occurred… I’ve handled pleanty of CHT issues both tech and billing with my poor vocabulary and without resorting to English.
So, I’m frustrated. My yearly sale is about to expire and I can’t purchase. I beg… Is there anyone there who speaks English?
All of a sudden the fake Chinglish and Chinese dissapears and I’m speaking to someone who sounds as if she’s coming from Oxford.
“I’m sorry this is the Chinese helpline,” she says. “You can’t help me? But you have access to my records and everything and you can’t help me?” I reply.
“No, even though I speak English I’m sorry but I cannot help you,” she says. Then in a low voice, she says “we are being monitored. This is the Chinese help line.
You can call our international service number.”
That number happens to be a toll call located in the US.
I kind of told her this is a ridiculous policy and doesn’t help with making or completing sales.
But it was obvious that she was just a cog in the system.
My problem was finally resolved for the best possible price one can get when it comes to computer systems malfunctioning and allowing you to order.
But if I did not have alternate means of contacting u.s. customer service I would have spent quite a bit of money.

1 Like

Jeez, that’s a fuck of a long way to go just to find out the store only carries Taiwan Beer…

Guy

3 Likes

my experience has mostly been good in this issue。this is an exception to the rule I guess