Exeptions to 80,000 tax free rule?

I found this on bankrate.com.
Does this mean that you might have to pay US taxes if you work “under the table” in taiwan and file your taxes in america expecting the 80,000 exclusion?

AFAIK, the foreign earned income exclusion doesn’t apply to self-employment income. I don’t know if paying foreign taxes on said income matters or not. I do know that if you’re self employed, you pay through the nose no matter whare you are in the world.

I am not a lawyer, this is not legal advice, blah blah blah.

Also, that quote is a little strange. “To take advantage of the tax break”? As if I wouldn’t file a Form 2555 anyway? :loco:

yea, youre right
I posted too fast.
after some more reading i finally read the tax form itself.

as long as I make less than 7000 u.s dollars or so I dont even have to file.

gee I don’t think I’ve made even close to that much here in taiwan. I guess I dont have to file :wink:

[quote=“dix2111”]yea, youre right
I posted too fast.
after some more reading i finally read the tax form itself.

as long as I make less than 7000 u.s dollars or so I don’t even have to file.

gee I don’t think I’ve made even close to that much here in Taiwan. I guess I don’t have to file :wink:[/quote]

You should file anyway. The IRS guy at AIT told me to file even if you don’t make a dime.

Hmmm…June is coming. I should get busy. :slight_smile:

That’s the first I’ve seen that you must pay foreign taxes to qualify for the foreign income exclusion, and I can’t find a reference to that in the books or IRS publications on the subject. The only requirements I’ve seen are that it must be earned income from a foreign source, and that you be considered a foreign resident. While those two requirements are fairly complicated in themselves, I’ve not seen anything that states that foreign taxes must be paid for it to be foreign income. If that’s the only source of that information, I’d be dubious about trusting it.