Favorite Textbook Series Discontinued. Legal to make copies?

Plain and simple. We have a favorite grammar textbook series we’ve used for years.
The activities were fun, engaging and varied.
It touched on every topic that was missing from our regular conversation book series. We’ve tried the replacements and they don’t measure up. Even our bookstore agreed this series was popular.
So, can we use copies as handouts?
I’m against people copying to save money but I totally despise people who won’t sell me stuff for no good reason.
If a series is no longer in print, what can you do?

I’m not a lawyer, but as an educator I have always relied on a principle of fair use for educational purposes. For me this has been easy, because I have always worked for non-profit universities and I never used anything in totality (i.e. not copying books cover-to-cover). Your situation might be different.

Looking at Taiwanese copyright law (article 65 only), and considering that you are no longer able to buy the product, you should be able to keep using at least some of it. If your school is for-profit and you want to use the entire book, then I would be less sure.

Of course, copyright a lawyer would be more sure.

If you’re happy to pay, though, why not contact the publisher? Ask if you can use some pieces, if they come back to you about money you can offer to pay. A licensing fee to print your own copies sounds reasonable. I am regularly contacted by representatives of a cram school in Japan that uses something I wrote and put online; I always grant permission and appreciate the ego boost. If the company is out of business, they might not care if you copy away. If somebody holds a copyright for this materials, why wouldn’t they be open to offers?