Favourite kids books

For some reason I did a search for what was my favourite children’s book when I was a wee one, and found it scanned and available online.

Dad used to read this to my sister and I, using funny monster voices, and we’d shriek with laughter until Mom would shout down the hall: “They’re supposed to be going to sleep!”

Later, my 10-years-younger cousins ‘borrowed’ the book and refused to return it for ten years. We only got it back when my sister craftily stole it.

Shortly afterward, when I graduated from university, her gift to me was a spanking new copy… then she slid the original off my book shelf and eased herself out the door murmuring, “And now this is mine.” :fume: :laughing:

The Monster at the End of this Book

I really can’t remember my favorite book as a kid, I just liked just any book I could get my hands on.

As a grownup, my favorite kids’ book is “Love You Forever” by Robert Munsch. I know some parents (and kids) find it a little creepy that a mom would crawl into her kids’ room at night, pick him up and rock him, and worse, that she would drive across town when he was a grown man with a home of his own, climb through his window and gently lift him up and rock him, but I cry just about every time I read this book. Just a couple of nights ago, my 8yo daughter read it to her little sister in Chinese and I was curious to see what they’d think of it because I’d never read it to them before. They both thought it was very sweet, especially the end.

“Love you forever, like you for always, as long as I’m living, my baby you’ll be.”

My eldest is a teen and once in a while he’ll send me a PS in his emails: “… as long as I’m living my mommy you’ll be.”

Gets me every time…