Fear of uncertainty and detachment during quarantine

I studied Chinese for a couple of years in my own country, always postponing the plan to visit from one year to the next.

Now I’m here and not sure how to handle it. In fact, before departing and during the first days after landing I was pretty excited about this new chapter, this brief period where I could really play with the learning process of this peculiar language. The idea that finally, without any second thought, I could happily embarass myself while trying to communicate with the locals with my almost non-existent 中文說 excited me.

Then there’s the quarantine.

I don’t really mind being alone as I pass my days studying, doing physical exercises and watching movies, but I feel kinda alienated right now.
It’s my 10th day of quarantine, haven’t seen anything about this city while the excitement and the bravery of trying to communicate with the locals is kinda gone.

It doesn’t help that I don’t have a proper window, as it faces a wall and I never have direct sunlight.

Fun fact: today I wasn’t able to communicate in Chinese with a Uber Eats driver in order to redirect him to my hotel as my gps didn’t work really well and this bugged me a bit.

Sorry for the banter, just had to write this to someone.
Anyways, hope this night of sleep will charge me a bit.

5 Likes

Welcome to Taiwan , things can only improve. :wink:
加油

10 Likes

What I did, was found strangers on the Internet with whom I vehemently disagreed to argue with. You could try this, and in addition to giving some contact with other people, it will make you miss other people a little less :wink:

15 Likes