Fee for Editing a Thesis

I have been asked to help a Taiwanese grad student in America edit her M.A. thesis … I’ve never done this kind of thing before, so I’m not sure what kind of rate I should charge. She is my classical Chinese professor’s friend, which is why I was asked, so I feel like I should give her a bit of a discount … so what would be a fair rate to charge for a 50-60 page thesis? Thanks!

I am sure other people will have a completely different opinion but… that’s life…

Firstly are you in Taiwan or in the USA? From your profile it seems you are in Taiwan and someone in the US contacted you here to help them, in which case I could charge her. However, if you are in the US then I would not charge her and here’s why: When I was in college I never charged for editing and proofreading. The thought never crossed my mind. If I were to do it all over again knowing what I know now I still wouldn’t charge them. These students have enough expenses as it is. However, if you are very busy and it will take you a lot of time then they need to know that, you should give them a date you will return there paper corrected. Being this person is your Classical Chinese professors friend you may not want to charge anyway… It’s of course your call.

Now if you live in Taiwan there is a standard rate people use here. What that rate is I am not sure, but if you did a search on segue for translation, fees, proofreading or editing fees you will find lots of information.

I don’t agree.

The students may “have enough expenses as it is”, but I still have expenses, too. I pay those expenses by translating and editing and being paid for so doing. If I don’t charge, I can’t pay MY expenses.

That being said, I usually would charge something like NT$0.75 per word for this kind of editing. Your mileage may vary, however.

Unfortunately, quoting a price is not a science, it’s an art.

Many seem to assume that the perfect price exists, but in reality it doesn’t.