Fee to charge for proofreading?

One of my private students asked if I could proofread something for her company, about 800 words worth. I’m happy to see that she’s going with a native speaker, but I have no idea what to charge. Can I ask, what do you charge, or what is the standard rate? Thanks. Her company is a cosmetics distributor, if that helps.

You could charge by the word. But I think 1k NTD would be a fair price for that kind of job.

Make sure you have a quick look at it before you agree to proof it.

2 Likes

Yeah, I’ve seen essays so mechanically broken that there’s no salvaging them and they basically have to be rewritten from scratch.

1 Like

Yep, that’s what I get from some of my writing students. It’s exhausting grading them.

Back when I was a translator, I often found it much easier to translate a document from Chinese than to correct one written in “English.”

4 Likes

NT$ 1 per word sounds low. I charged NT$ 1.5 maybe 15 years ago. I hope the rate has gone up since then.

If you have experience in the subject, NT$ 2 or 3 should be doable.

And definitely get a sample beforvmaking a commitment. I once needed more time to fix a 2 page letter to the editor than a 20 page manuscript (that manuscript was the easiest thing, but still - I’m a slow reader)

1 Like

Also, bear in mind that unless your student wrote it you’ll be dealing with whoever did write it when you make any changes.

Best to make it clear up front that your changes are suggestions and the company can decide whether to accept them or not. However, you won’t be discussing them any further.

2 Likes

Good advice by everyone. Thanks.

1 Like

Yes! Sometimes their pride is hurt when there’s a ton of corrections and they try to question or even challenge them. Make sure all work is final and it’s up to them what they want to do with the revised version, but you won’t be going back and forth over it. Give an inch and they’ll take a mile.

1 Like