Feedback on the TLI

I am thinking about signing up for Chinese lessons at the Taiwan Language Institute. Has anyone used their services? If so, were you satisfied?

Thanks!

Bongo-

If you want to focus on SPOKEN… I highly recomend them. Written is however not as good there as Shi Da. TLI will let you study either in hanyu pinyin, or bopomofo (I forgot the official name of it). I studied one on one 14 hours a week for 6 months at the Beijing branch and returned to the States to enroll in a Second year University level Chinese course. The first 2 terms of the Second year Uni-course were largely review…

Of course, I have lost it all now… :frowning:

Thanks for the info. I notice you are in Taipei on your profile. How could you have lost it living here?

I have heard that they write their own books. How good are the books that they use?

I also heard that there is a lot of pressure on the teachers there. If you don’t like the teacher that you have, then you can switch anytime. Is that true too?

Kristy, how much did it cost to study 14 hours a week one on one in Beijing? In Taipei it’s almost $400 an hour. Also, at 14 hours a week I’m sure you would have gotten good results anywhere. It’s really not much of a recommendation I’m sorry to say.

I have studied on 2 different occassions at the TLI on Roosevelt Road. I’ve had 2 good teachers of of 6. Not great odds. I find there books better than the Shida ones as the grammar explanations are more comprehensible. They tend to use more everyday English. With the old Shida green book I found myself translating the English explanations into English. They also have useful sub-sections such as lists of measure words, resultive verbs, and smaller section highlighting the different shades of meaning of common words. Their dialogues also only use words you’ve learned or are about to learn in the current chapter.