Feeding cats

Ok, next question. (I’ve recently adopted two stray cats, Maya
and the as-of-yet unnamed love kitty from hell
, whom I currently call Goblin, 914 calls Orange, and my SO calls Ginger; and so I’m still learning about what’s good for them and all that.)

I bought some “Holistic” cat food at the vet, but it’s not cheap. The cats seem to like it. It’s in semi-soft little “O” rings, and the label goes on and on about all the ingredients in it, like green tea :loco: , which are supposedly good for the kitties.

I also got a giant bag at Costco, which was labeled “Maintenance”, and was the cheapest they had :blush: . I was trying to save money, what can I say? I was afraid they would turn up their noses at it, or that their skin would turn green or something, but they seem to like that too, so far so good.

I’ve also given them canned cat food from the supermarket, but they were much slower to eat it. It looks like it contains chopped up fish, held together with some gelatin or congealed fat or something :sick: . And I’ve given them some tuna and salmon, canned, as well, which they just love. They’re both gaining weight (they were skinny), and their coats are glossy; stool is normal; one cat is lethargic and one rambunctious.

The question is, am I feeding them the right stuff? Is the bulk stuff from Costco good for them? Why do they like the dry food better than the canned cat food which is more expensive, has real fish in it, and would presumably be more delicious? Should I just keep giving them the cheap dry stuff with the occasional canned tuna treat?

And if I follow Stray Dog’s “meaty bones” prescription, what meaty bones are best for cats, beef, chicken, or what?

Do you go to a butcher for your raw meaty bones, or do you just eat tons of meat :laughing: ? Which are the cheapest or most convenient raw meaty bones? Raw wings? Duck heads :astonished: ?

I don’t think I want to find a half-eaten chicken head under my sofa 6 months later… :cluck: