Film industry

I’m a line producer in independent film industry. Came to Taiwan to take care of my ailing folks. Tried to find similar field to work in. I must say, as I predicted before I came here, there is no film industry here. Guess I’ll have to wait a year and get my Taiwanese citizenship then venture into China I guess… sigh

? There’s a film industry here. I’m not sure how you’d get into it, though; it’s small and unique. Maybe do some work for TV and then move into film once you have the contacts?

This film coming out next year.

The 果子電影 (ARS film production) makes some of the most popular films in the past couple of years in Taiwan. I think it’s the only production that tries to parallel big budget epic films. And they try to tell the most interesting stories in my opinion, instead of the instant noodle styled romantic comedies.

facebook.com/arsfilmproduction

Their past films includes Seediq Bale

and Cape No.7

Cape No. 7 was weird. I liked it, but it was WEEEIIIRRRDD.

Seediq Bale was great.

There are some gem films in Taiwan… Many of them are much deeper than you’d expect given the sorry state of TV and the shallowness of music that comes from here. The classics were in the 1990’s mostly, I think, with directors like 侯孝賢 and 楊德昌. Recently, I really enjoyed Monga and have rewatched it several times; there’s a comedy called 總鋪師 (Zone Pro Site… who the hell came up with that name!) coming out that looks pretty promising, too.

But basically, it’s an extremely small industry and probably quite hard to get into if you don’t know anybody. You should muster up the courage to call some of the famous directors’ studios or someone else’s agent and explain your expertise and ask whether or not you can get in on it. Most good job opportunities aren’t advertised, anyway.

[quote=“Hokwongwei”]