Fire safety when renting an apartment

Hey everyone, I’m new to Taipei as an American born and raised in Los Angeles. I rented an apartment ahead of time and when I got here, it’s mostly fine, just have to adjust to little things here or there. But one thing I noticed is that I’m on the fifth floor, and the balcony/windows all have metal gating around them with no apparent fire escape or way of opening them.

Is this…normal? If so, how do I go about finding a place that isn’t like this? I’m month-to-month but only having the front door as a means of escape feels pretty uncomfortable this high up. Am I wrong here and just being a paranoid American? Thanks for any help.

Go to Skyscanner, and buy a ticket back to Los Angeles. Seriously though, Taiwan is the king of ignoring safety standards. Unless you are staying in a very expensive brand new building in Taipei I would forget about fire safety. You aren’t being paranoid, I feel the same but there isn’t much I can do about it. Best thing you can do is reduce the risk of fire’s happening in the first place. Invest in a good digital fire detector, but have a backup traditional one too. You can also install fire extinguisher’s in each room quite cheaply. Do not rely on the building’s central fire alarm system. Don’t use extension leads, and check your cables for faults. I know a lot of Taiwanese have the electrics redone when they buy a property but I guess that’s not a possibility if you are renting. Ask when this was last done before signing a contract, but expect to be lied to.

2 Likes

bars should have a small escape door in them, the apartments ove rented have them. how ever, these will only help the firefighters take you to safety, you don’t want to jump 5 stories down.
I was in a similar situation to yours and just installed my own smoke detectors and bought a fire extinguisher for the apartment.

3 Likes