For employability, what's more useful - Chinese proficiency or a technical qualification?

I used to work as a technical writer in Taiwan, but I basically stumbled onto that job by accident and, therefore, I don’t know anything about job-hunting in Taiwan. However, I’ve regretted leaving Taiwan since the day I came back to the UK and I’m determined to return, provided I can find another technical writing job or something similar.

Although I’m a career technical writer, my academic background and previous work history is in writing/editing and linguistics, and I lack a solid technical grounding. I have been accepted onto an Information Technology master’s degree, which should make me a more employable technical writer in any country. But, as my goal is to eventually find a job in Taiwan, it occurred to me that it might make more sense for me to study Chinese full time for a year instead. However, the technical writing job I had in Taiwan didn’t require any Chinese, and all such vacancies I’ve seen advertised online either don’t require Chinese or list it as a “bonus”. This leads me to think that the IT master’s might make me more employable in Taiwan after all, but I really have no idea (I haven’t actually seen many vacancies advertised online and all the vacancies I saw were in English, so they might not be reflective of the wider situation).

For the record, I would probably rate my current level of Chinese at upper-beginner. I know that becoming proficient in Chinese would be more beneficial to my life in Taiwan than getting an IT master’s but, at this point, I’m only concerned about employability.

Does anybody have any thoughts on my conundrum?