Foreigners win court case over slander - Defendants get jail

Would you believe the defendants (Language School owners) have been handed 3 months in prison? Apparently the plaintiffs are suing the Language school alone for 1 million US$. My wife knows their lawyer and apparently he is quite well known in Taipei. Should these unscrupulous Laobans be faced with prison sentences for slander? What would this bring in the west? Yesterday they awarded 300,000 each from the China Post but it seems they will be appealing for greater. The China Post will also have to settle out of court if they want to avoid apologizing by way of a front page ad for 2 consecutive days. Sure sounds like these 2 blokes made their stay in Taiwan a successful one. Wish I was looking at 1 million US$ court case in my favor, bastards!

I didn’t mean it, don’t sue me! :laughing:

1. What the hell are you talking about? Link please.

2. You’re not really a lawyer, are you?

Yes, I am a lawyer FYI back in the States and the information was from an extremely reliable source. I didn’t expect criticism, I simply hoped to hear feedback from the foreign community here in Taiwan, as I know that many complain at the general business practice and way foreigners are treated here in Taiwan (with the bushibans). No harm implied, have a great day! Lawyerdude

1. Wow, a quarduple post spanning 7 minutes? How is that even possible?

2. There’s already a thread about the result of that, and another thread about the whole thing. Use it.

3. It would’ve been nice if you made it obvious what in the hell you were talking about to start with.

I mean is it fair, too much or not enough? You are a real winner, sounds like you need to get laid. Loser.

Well, as a lawyer you should understand that one can’t possibly issue a legal opinion without knowing the facts and you haven’t stated the most basic facts in this case.

Who said what about whom?
Was the statement written or oral?
Was the statement clearly false?