Free Three-Sided Flashcard Program

I am a programmer. I found an interesting but somewhat primitive computerized flashcard program on an open-source web site. You can read about that here: codeproject.com/KB/cs/LeitnerBox.aspx

After doing extensive research on Sebastian Leitner and various companies which have implemented his ideas along with other enhancements, I expanded the LeitnerBox to a three-sided flashcard system that includes Question, Answer, and optional Hint. (no audio and no video)

Under the terms of the open license, my version and all of the associated source code is freely available. There is a working version just captured from my own system and including all the flashcards I’ve written myself. (I prefer and use BoPoMoFo, but the program will just as easily support Pinyin.)

Anyone who wants it can get it here: jimkay.tw/files/Leitner_Two.zip

It was built using Microsoft Visual Studio 2008 and the programmers out there can easily review the source to be sure exactly what the program does.

This program is very poorly documented but I’ll be happy to answer questions and advise people how to use it.

The program has the ability to edit and save updates to the flashcards on the fly.

There is primitive ability to use this program to create additional flashcards, but I have another data-entry program that is much better. That one is rather more complex (and very slow in startup.) Once I verify just what has to be included with the data-entry program, I’ll add it here.

I BELIEVE I have created a distributable version of the data-entry program.

jimkay.tw/files/Chinese%20Vo … 0Lists.zip

Feel free to try it out.

This version displays and saves both BoPoMoFo and Pinyin. But if you load the resulting file into the flashcard program, the Pinyin is discarded.

There are a couple of ways to keep the Pinyin instead of the BoPoMoFo, but the best idea is for me to create that as a user option - depending on someone asking for that.