Freelancing

Hi,

Any ideas on how to do freelance work and still be able to stay in the country (outside of taking classes or getting married)?

I’m a Chinese-English translator working for a translation company right now, and would really like to branch out on my own in a while (the money and times are MUCH better). The only problem with freelancing is I would not be able to get a work permit and thus would have no way of staying in the country (I don’t want to do monthly vacations like most teachers).
I have heard I could open my own business, but don’t really wish to spend the $60,000 in lawyer fees and $5 million in investment from overseas.

I find it an odd situation (not just in Taiwan; I think this is an issue that very few countries have thought of in this era of globalization) – US companies (or from any country) can hire me as a freelancer over the internet (or through any other method) no matter where I am. Taiwanese companies can hire me as a freelance if I’m in the US. However, if I am hired by a Taiwanese company to do the same job while I’m in Taiwan, it’s suddenly illegal…? Even if it is not illegal per se, I can still not stay in the country longer that a month or two to put that money I make back into the local economy. If I’m going to make money from Taiwanese companies, it makes sense to them for me to spend it here! Yet, while I’m in Taiwan, most of the money I make goes back into the local economoy… Hmmm. Do I have a handle on this? Even if it is not illegal, I still

I greatly enjoy living here and enjoy making an actual contribution to the society (through my works, taxes, etc.,). So, to avoid making this more of a novel than it already is… does anyone know of any way to do freelancing while staying in the country? (legally, that is! )

Thanks for any help you can give.