From your experiences, what is the ease of getting a job in Taiwan

I am a Nigerian with bachelor’s degree and six years professional experience in HR/Admin. I’m planning to move to Taiwan on a business visa after this global pandemic.

I dont want to work with general knowledge we have on the internet as most of them are misleading. Hands-on information from people with actual experienced as obvious on this forum is preferable.

I have read so much about converting visitor visa to residence/work and guess I’m good to go.

From your experiences, what is the ease of getting a job in Taiwan (not necessary in my stated field, I’m open for other options). And how is the salary (in dollar)?

My trip depends solely on your sincere and direct information. It would be better to squash my plan if the trip is not worth it.

Feel free to email me (oriaend@gmail.com) for private info or advice.

3 Likes

Can you communicate in Chinese?

I have no knowledge of Chinese language. I’m certainly taking a language lesson when I arrive.

How do you expect to work in HR and administration when you can’t communicate in the local language?

1 Like

Like I wrote earlier, my job options are not limited to HR. I know cultural differences play a role in employment so I can take other job. Secondly, whether HR or not, there’s no way I won’t take Chinese language lesson.

For people from usa, UK, Canada, etc. English teacher is one of the most easiest jobs to get. For you, it may be not.

If you have enough money and a good plan, doing your own business on an entrepreneur visa or investment visa might be the easiest one.

If not, engineering, IT, etc? It seems many of Nigerians in Taiwan are working in trade companies, though.

Minimum monthly salary for most of foreigners except for cram school teachers is about 1600USD.

If you cant speak Chinese and you cant teach English… it wont be easy to get a job. Not impossible but probably quite hard.