Gettin an ARC - giving up my multiple?

So I’ve been playing the multiple re-entry game since January 2004. My school is offering to get me an ARC. Assuming they get started at the beginning of January 2005, what can I expect? Specifically:

Do I have to give up my MR visa (this is my understanding)?

Will I need to leave the country?

As I understand it there wasa a time I could have converted my MR visa to a work visa, then a residency visa and ARC without having to leave the country. But now I’ll need to get my work visa, then leave the country and apply for a residecy visa, then come back and apply for ARC (and I know my employer does most of this “applying”). Which one can I expect?

Thanks!

You should be able to get MR with your ARC; they’ve given me one every time, without my even asking for it. As for having to leave, it’s been 10 years since I converted a tourist to a work visa, and I had to fly to Hong Kong and wait. In HK, they told me it would take a week, so I flew to the PRC and went travelling for 2 weeks, then returned to HK, where I was told that they hadn’t begun processing my permit yet :fume: . Nearly broke, I waited another week in HK, eating the cheapest noodles, and listening to Mandarin tapes at the public library (unable to afford any other entertainment). Finally, I got the ok, and returned to TPE, barely able to cover the bus fare to my apartment!

This probably won’t happen to you…

man, if I could have multiples, I wouldn’t give that up for a bit of laminated green cardboard :smiley: