Getting a citizenship

Hi, I am new to this forum, am 18 this year, male and is a singapore chinese citizen planning to settle down in Taiwan, prefably the city areas like Taipei when I am around my 20s, Therefore, I am here to get some advice on how I can go about it.

My background is not very complicated, My whole family is of singaporean nationality by birth and that includes me as well, I am also schooling at the moment and will probably complete by 2013.

Questions :

How can I go about getting my citizenship there ? Is it possible for me ?
How much will I need ?
Living (How to get work, study there, accomodation etc ?)

[quote=“Javyn”]Hi, I am new to this forum, am 18 this year, male and is a Singapore chinese citizen planning to settle down in Taiwan, prefably the city areas like Taipei when I am around my 20s, Therefore, I am here to get some advice on how I can go about it.

My background is not very complicated, My whole family is of singaporean nationality by birth and that includes me as well, I am also schooling at the moment and will probably complete by 2013.

Questions :

How can I go about getting my citizenship there ? Is it possible for me ?
How much will I need ?
Living (How to get work, study there, accomodation etc ?)[/quote]

I’m in a similar situation as you. I am American born Chinese but I only hold US ctizenship.

The first is not an easy question otherwise I would have applied already. I think for Singapore citizen, you’re recognised as a foreign national and not an overseas Chinese (same case here) so you’ve have to reannouce your citizenship in order to apply for ROC citizen through naturalization.
Second question depends on how long you want to stay, I’ve spend around 45000NTD a month. You need to be more specific.

Being a male… and 20 years old, once you’ve gotten a Taiwanese citizenship, won’t you need to complete the required 18 months of Army duty??