Getting a driver's license vs getting a scooter license

I’ve done some research on the forum here (and elsewhere) but wanted to get some feedback on this.

I want to be able to rent either a car or a scooter through something like iRent, because it’s a lot more convenient than a traditional rental service that accepts foreigners with just a passport and IDL. (Car Plus and EasyRent both want to have the booking made more than one day in advance and don’t allow same-day return.)

I have no motorcycle/scooter experience, and know they can be dangerous, so my first thought was to get a driver’s license. Seems if you don’t do an exchange of your US/whatever license that the process is a nightmare. But I also don’t want to give up my US license since I’m not committing yet to long-term residency here.

I read that the DMV will let you practice driving a scooter to prep for taking the test. Can I just walk in and ask for this (with my Google Translate probably) and they’ll just do it on the spot?

Mainly looking to rent for sightseeing, like driving along the coast, or for when I go somewhere like Yangmingshan NP.

Exchange is not giving up your US license. You just give them a photocopy that is already been notarized by AIT.

1 Like

Yes , you can practice riding scooter at the DMV at lunchtime or early morning before the scooter practice test starts , however you need to have your own scooter or borrow a friend’s scooter . Also keep in mind many people like to practice there so try to arrive early

Also you can find more info about how to practice for the scooter test on the following topic

3 Likes