Getting hired; in or out of the country

Hello all,
I am an American citizen (currently living in US). I have been an engineer for 20 years with a Masters degree (10 years prior an electronics tech; also retired National Guardsman in computer shop). I have serious intentions of relocating to Taiwan; hence I will be looking for work very shortly. It would be very helpful to know if my job search should be done from the US, or are opportunities better/greater if I am “in-country” while doing so (I realize I would need a visa for a long stay). I would very much appreciate anyone who has had any experience or have some suggestions, tips on this matter. I am also fluent in Spanish, Portuguese (some Italian, Vietnamese, and French), and am at an intermediate Mandarin level. Thanks again for any input.

[quote=“toyguard”]Hello all,
I am an American citizen (currently living in US). I have been an engineer for 20 years with a Masters degree (10 years prior an electronics tech; also retired National Guardsman in computer shop). I have serious intentions of relocating to Taiwan; hence I will be looking for work very shortly. It would be very helpful to know if my job search should be done from the US, or are opportunities better/greater if I am “in-country” while doing so (I realize I would need a visa for a long stay). I would very much appreciate anyone who has had any experience or have some suggestions, tips on this matter. I am also fluent in Spanish, Portuguese (some Italian, Vietnamese, and French), and am at an intermediate Mandarin level. Thanks again for any input.[/quote]

Welcome!

There is a lot of information on these boards about coming to Taiwan and finding jobs. I recommend using the google site search to get started:

site: forumosa.com job Taiwan arriving …

This thread started by a a guy thinking of coming to Taiwan who finally arrived three years later after a detour to China offers some useful perspective.