Getting Married in the UK

Hi guys, I was wondering if people here knew about getting married in the UK to a Taiwanese. Atm I am unemployed, but hell. Might as well get married. :wink:
Can we legally get married here or is such a thing beset on all sides by the tyrannies of evil bureaucracy?

I married a Turkish citizen in the UK. We made the appointment, paid the fee and got married. Easy. Next comes getting special leave to remain for the foreign spouse. They ask some questions to work out whether you are in a genuine relationship. They want to know that the British spouse has sufficient income to ensure that the foreign spouse does not need to receive state benefits. Actually I was unemployed but I said I was a part-time lecturer, which I really was sometimes, and they said OK. One year later (for us, I think it is now two years), you go back to the Home Office and go through a similar process to show that you have maintained your relationship and have been living together, and then the foreign spouse can get permanent leave to remain. Actually we hadnā€™t been living together for most of the time, because I was in China, but we bluffed it without too much difficulty. So itā€™s not too hard, actually.

We got married in 1991, so some things have changed since then. Perhaps those with more recent experience will tell us how it went for them.

Thanks for the info! I think there is now a minimum income restriction. Sucks - I canā€™t even get married haha

Your wife could go in on a tourist visa and get Married then.
As for residency, thatā€™s a different issue.