Getting started as a freelance translator

I’ve been working for two years now as a part-time translator for a local Buddhist organization. Lately I’ve been thinking about trying to supplement my income by doing some freelance work during my freetime.

I know a few people who frequent this forum are in this line of work so I was wondering how a guy should go about getting set up, eg how to look for clients, agencies, going rate, that sort of stuff. Any suggestions appreciated.

Basically you just need to get your name out in front of the folks who need translation. This requires either figuring out what people in private life might need it, or marketing to the translation agencies in Taiwan or abroad.

One thing to think about is (and remember, I don’t know you and I don’t know what your Chinese background is!) if you’ve been doing solely Buddhist stuff during your whole experience translating, this might be different from the typical commercial job (although a hefty dose of Buddhist attitudes helps a lot in doing some commercial jobs!). Make sure you are equipped to deal with the kind of terminology and usage, as well as English writing styles, you will need.

One hint: (IMHO) buy the “New Century” Chinese-English dictionary from “Jianhong” (on Chongqing S. Road near the train station in Taipei, for one place) as soon as possible as it is probably the most comprehensive dictionary I’ve found to date for general (and some technical) stuff. It’ll get you out of many a problem. Recently I bought another copy in Taipei and was delighted to find it was on sale for something like NT$1300 (usually it’s around $3000). Go directly to their shop (the publisher’s) on Chongqing S. Road if you want to see if the discount is still in effect.

Terry

Thanks for the advice. I’ll check out that dictionary.