Getting started in motorcycle racing

Ok, here goes. Maybe this is just a symptom of my crazy, bored mind but I’ve been thinking about getting into racing here. While I’ve been riding on the streets for about 10 years, I’ve only been on a track once. And while I’ve also been involved in racing, it was never as the guy on the bike. So, I’ve seen people here posting bits about racing at TIS (or whatever it’s called), I’ve seen clips on Youtube and I know some Taiwan guys that are involved in racing (here and in China) but I don’t know how someone would go about getting started.

So, I just want to know what anyone else might know about this. Even if I end up not actually doing this (I’m a poor man now so this all might be totally out of my budget), maybe this thread can be helpful to other people in the future.

The questions I’ve thought of so far are:

1. What bikes (2 stroke, 4 stroke, 100cc, 400cc, etc.) can be used in the local races?
  2. Where can I purchase one of these bikes?
  3. What is the general price of one of these bikes?
  4. What needs to be done to the bike to make it pass tech?
  5. Where can one purchase the gear (leathers, boots, back protectors, etc.) locally?
  6. How does one get a racing license?
  7. How does one actually join the races?
  8. Is there any information about the races (requirements, schedule, etc.) available in English?

That’s all I can think of for now.

[quote=“44”]Ok, here goes. Maybe this is just a symptom of my crazy, bored mind but I’ve been thinking about getting into racing here. While I’ve been riding on the streets for about 10 years, I’ve only been on a track once. And while I’ve also been involved in racing, it was never as the guy on the bike. So, I’ve seen people here posting bits about racing at TIS (or whatever it’s called), I’ve seen clips on Youtube and I know some Taiwan guys that are involved in racing (here and in China) but I don’t know how someone would go about getting started.