Gold Card economic category questions

Hey everyone,

Been a lurker around here, but it’s the first time I’m posting, so I’m pretty excited! I know there is probably oversaturation with Gold Card topics, but I wasn’t able to find the exact information I need by searching so I’ll try my luck on a new topic.

I’m a frontend developer from Israel that is looking to move back to Taiwan in the near future (I was living and studying in Taiwan for a year 2 years ago on the Huayu scholarship), so I was checking out the Gold Card option as a viable way to move and stay in Taiwan again.

Most of my salaries this year weren’t quite reaching the <NT$160k/m requirement, but my last month’s salary (11/2020), with some bonuses and benefits, was able to surpass the salary amount that is required to qualify.

Now, from several posts I have read, I understood that the requirement is to be able to prove that one has made <NT$160k/m salary at any point in the last 3 years, which I guess makes me qualified to apply. I have contacted the Taiwan Gold Card Help Desk (I guess it’s an official body?) via email to try and confirm this, and although they’re quite quick to respond, most of their copy-paste answers just left me with more questions eventually.

However, the answer that they have provided me discouraged me a little bit. Regarding the timeframe for the economic category requirement, they said this: " Your Israel 106 Form must show that you have held a monthly salary of NT$160,000 or above within the three years preceding the month of the application for at least one year or more ". Upon trying to clarify the “at least one year or more” part, they have replied with this: “the Workforce Development Agency (WDA) will take the amount on the tax form, divide it by 12, and see if the average monthly salary is at least NTD$160,000”.