Great Apartment but Smells Funny

So I’m new to Taiwan and with the help of a coordinator from my school, have pounded the pavement looking for my first apartment here in the beautiful city of Taoyuan over the past few days. Most of the places we’ve found just haven’t cut the mustard in terms of what I’m looking for. Finally today, we find a place that is very close to what I’m looking for but alas it smells God awful. It’s also really dirty with lots of black mold in the bathroom. If it wasn’t for the terrible stench, I would have got it in a heartbeat because it really is quite suitable for me. I guess here’s my question: is it normal for apartments to smell really bad before the new owners take it over? I only ask this because I’ve noticed that quite a few apartments that I’ve looked at have smelled pretty bad (this one being the worst). Do you think a good scrub down with the windows open a few days might take care of the problem or should I keep looking?

I have a few more days before I start work and would like to get my living place sorted yet without making a massive blunder. If the bad smell is only temporary I’ll call the agent and sign the papers. My only problem is not only am I a newbie to Taiwan but also I’m clueless to apartments in general. Any help would be much appreciated!

:astonished: :open_mouth:

9 Likes

If you have few more days - how about just clean it or hire cleaning lady.

1 Like

Or tell the landlord you’d like to rent it, but would like them to clean it out first. Depending on their response will tell you what kind of landlord you’re getting and whether to keep looking.

10 Likes

Fuck off, Presley

4 Likes

We’d have to come over and smell your apartment.

I would first determine what the source of the bad smell is. Is it cigarette smoke, mold, cadaver, etc.?

2 Likes

Check ventilation and windows in this room. If there is none, then that mould may be there to stay. And if so, stay away!!!