Grid-tie inverters: What is this sorcery?

Context first:: I’m not an electrician, and I have almost no idea how electricity works. Undeterred by this, I’ve been looking at putting some solar panels up on my roof, which is a big south-facing tiepi and gets direct sun all day long.

I had been thinking that running house appliances off my toy PV setup would be a nightmare, but then I found a product making a startling claim:

It says “台電的電表是機械電錶,原理是電流產生磁力推動轉盤,如果兩條火線的電流不同,分別產生的磁力共同去推動轉盤,如果一正一負,兩邊的磁力會互相抵消”, which I think roughly means that the Taipower meter wheel is pushed by magnetic force from the current running through it, and that plugging this inverter in (to some sensible breaker circuit) will push current the other way through the meter, cancelling out some of what the rest of the house is using (and perhaps even contributing power back to the grid).

This sounds a little too good to be true, but it does seem to be, and is maybe even pretty standard.

So, some questions:

• Can this possibly work?
  • Is it legal?
  • What would happen if my meter reading went down over a month?
  • Am I going to make the whole neighbourhood explode?
1 Like

Yes, of course it works. But unless there’s some arrangement with Taipower, you’re giving them power for free. Taipower seem to have been consistently against the very concept.

That’s selling to the network, not a novel idea. It’s the whole selling point for all distributed power generation technologies, including solar.
But I have no idea if there is adequate legal groundwork in Taiwan.

I don’t mind giving them power for free, if I’m generating more than I need – it would still mean less coal being burned. But I don’t expect I will be, generally.

I’m just kind of amazed that it’s this simple.

Yeah, it’s mostly the politicians and the power companies who prefer to pretend that it isn’t.