Group classes vs one-to-one

Hi,

I have previously studied at TLI for about 4 months on a one-to-one basis. I’m planning on going back to TLI in March for another term and have been thinking about whether to take a group class this time, as some people have suggested I might get more out of a group situation now.

Does anyone have any recent experience of the (non-beginner) group classes at TLI?

I have a few questions:

1. How do they decide what level class to put you in? Previously, I studied their first 3 books - New Practical Chinese books 1 and 2, and New Intermediate Chinese Dialogues book 1. I’m a bit concerned that I join a class that is at roughly the same level as I am.

2. In my previous classes, I’ve always used Pinyin. Is it possible to use Pinyin in the group classes (I know TLI’s books now include Pinyin and Zhuyin, but what will be acceptable for use in class)?

3. What is the usual format for group classes at non-beginner level? I assume they are a bit more ‘free-form’ than the beginner classes…?

4. Would you agree that a group class is better for learning than one-to-one?

Any other views about taking group classes vs individual classes would be much appreciated!

Thanks for your help.

Regards,
Ben

I studied at TLI for 18 months and went through the books you mentioned, and then Picture Story and Taiwan Today.

In my opinion, the group classes are great at early levels, where you can benefit from lots of drilling, but not much free flowing conversation. As you get to the more advanced levels, you really need more speaking time in the class.