Hello...Korean teacher looking to Taiwan

Ok, I have been working for 2 years. Next Year I top out at a salary of about $2100 (after tax). I have a free studio apartment, health insurance provided. I get 2 weeks winter and 2 weeks summer vacation as well as traditional holidays which can be generous. At the end of the year If I stay I get a nice bonus of about $1800 usd and 1 week extra paid vacation. When I depart korea I get all my pension contributions back. And my airfare in and out is covered.

However…Taiwan is much closer to the Philippines and cheaper to get to (i have family there) and seems more warm and friendly than where I am.

I have my BA, my US Substitute License and my TESOL and 2 years public school experience.

I am wondering if anyone can give me the lowdown on Taiwan teaching, especially thge pay, vacation, bonuses etc. I have always preferred public schools because of the security and other reasons and I am very NERVOUS about giving up my cush job here in Korea. I am 30 years old. I dont party or drink or go clubbing. I eat cheap food, stay home and watch internet movies.

If anyone can help with my questions I appreciate it. Most recruiters dnt provide much info.

[quote=“travis1983”]

I am wondering if anyone can give me the lowdown on Taiwan teaching, especially thge pay, vacation, bonuses etc.[/quote]

In the cram schools you will get around 600NTD per contact hour. You won’t get paid for vacations, public holidays, sick leave, or typhoon days. You probably won’t get your airfare paid or a bonus. These reasons are why the recruiters have been so quiet :laughing:

Look up Guy in Taiwan’s posts for pay and benefits in the public schools.