Help! Adult class is like pulling teeth!

I have been teaching adults now for 2 moths 3 classes per week. The material is OK but in my 2 conversation classes the students don’t ask questions much are very passive and only respond if I make jokes, tell stories and let them watch videos! This works but it wears me out like I have to be a white Dave Chappelle or something! :smiley:

I am still a new teacher here and It is a shock. I taught English in Germany before I came here for a bit. I thought Germans were a bit conservative ahem,until coming to Taiwan. Taiwanese students are nice but they make Germans look like a The greatest conversationalist on earth. I saw another old thread about ideas for adult classes but i am hoping someone can enlighten me with something new.

Do they know when and how to ask appropiate questions?

I have the opposite problem that you have - I find it difficult to make small talk with other Westerners and I get bored and say nothing most of the time. Thankfully, I’m too old to worry about it and it’s fine with me! However, I have done fairly well with conversation classes with Taiwanese adults.

It took me a few years to figure this out in a fundamental way, but generally speaking, it seems that most adults in Taiwan had a “teacher talks/students listen” education. For every subject, including English. Most students were/are punished (in one way or another) for making mistakes and the adults are especially aware of and concerned about losing face by making any mistake at all. Most students are (at first) afraid to talk or voice any opinion that has not been pre-approved by consensus. At least, that’s what I saw happening when things were not working in my classes before. I figured that most students were more comfortable memorizing vocabulary than just saying a few of their own words!