Help on buying motorcycle

Hey everyone!

I am studying chinese in Taichung and will continue studying medicine after i learned chinese so i am planning on staying here for some years… and…of course i guess it would be usefull to have a scooter or motorcycle…

[color=#004080]So far i am at the point of deciding between a scooter and a traditional motorcycle, but i strongly incline towards the motorcycle because of these facts:[/color]

• I live in Taichung and would like to use it to travel to the nearby mountains from time to time because i love hiking and I am afraid a scooter won`t get me there or will not be as durable as a motorcycle

• Somebody told me motorcycles have gear shift / manual kickstart or whatever that is called (im not a native speaker of english, sorry), and hence it consumes less fuel then a normal scooter?

• Supposed to be more durable and stable and more comfortable for long rides?

• Better for 2 people? since i will be moving around a lot with my girlfriend on the back or the other way around

• Manual gear shift and motorcycle motor easier to repair in case of any problem?

So unless anybody can really persuade me that my concept is completely wrong I pretty much would stick with a motorcycle and not a scooter which fits into the following concept:

[color=#408000]I am looking for a second hand machine that is neither too crappy nor too overpriced in the 125-250cc range if that is enough for longer trips around taiwan also (I dont mind if it goes slow, as long as it goes up some hills)…[/color]

What would you guys recommend?