Help with Apples in Taiwan, cooking/baking?

Hi, I have a lot of monster sized Taiwan Apples. They are the ones that come in gift boxes. Just what kind of apples are they anyway?

I’m not an expert cook but I’d like to do some baking. What is the difference between apples for eating and apples for baking. Can I use my giant apples in the recipies?

I don’t see much choice when it comes to apples where I live in Taiwan. If I want to use the eating apples for baking, how should I adjust the recipe?

Or am I heading for disaster?
Things I’d like to try to make would be one or two of the following: apple bread, unsweetend apple sauce, baked apples.

Are they apples? aren’t they yellowish and taste like pears … if so they are not apples but nashis … nashi pears to be precise … and when they are apples they are not good, make apple sauce of them …

[quote=“Taiwan_Student”]Hi, I have a lot of monster sized Taiwan Apples. They are the ones that come in gift boxes. Just what kind of apples are they anyway?

I’m not an expert cook but I’d like to do some baking. What is the difference between apples for eating and apples for baking. Can I use my giant apples in the recipies?

I don’t see much choice when it comes to apples where I live in Taiwan. If I want to use the eating apples for baking, how should I adjust the recipe?

Or am I heading for disaster?
Things I’d like to try to make would be one or two of the following: apple bread, unsweetend apple sauce, baked apples.[/quote]I think BP’s right. The ones you’re looking at are probably a kind of pear.