Hi I'm new in Town

Well amlost new. I’m actually not on Taiwan soil yet, but by this time next week I will be. I’ve been lurking for a few months trying to get the low down and just officially joined recently. I just wanted to say hi and hope to get to know some of you.

A bit about myself. I’m from the US and will be here for a year to teach English. After I was laid off this summer from Worldcom I wanted a change and wasn’t ready to go back to the 9-5 rat race rut. I love to travel so I figured this would be a way to see some of the world and make a little money while doing it (paying off credit card debt), so here I am.

I’m a newbie to the teaching scene although I do come from a long line of educators including my mother, uncle, and 6 of my aunts so I don’t think the classroom will be too foreign to me. Well that’s all for now I’m looking forward to living and learning here.

Oh one question (if anyone reads this). What is one thing you wish you had known about Taiwan that may have shocked or surprised you before you arrived? Thanks.

I wish I had known how to teach in Taiwan before I came, it would have saved a lot of headaches, although then again it has become a skill I won’t forget. And looking back on it now, it’s pretty funny. Good luck!

The large number of ex-Telco employees trying to pass themselves off as teachers.

[quote]What is one thing you wish you had known about Taiwan that may have shocked or surprised you before you arrived? [/quote]The 711’s don’t have petrol bowsers out the front :sunglasses:

I guess I would have liked someone to tell me: “The place looks like a mess. Hell, it is a mess. And its dirty. But the people are great and you’ll have a wild time.”

Also, look out for the pollution. A lot is hidden in the air. Be careful when and where you do your exercise. Its probably not a good idea to jog outside in the city.

Don’t tell anyone if you’re new in town.
Last time they were robbed because they were…

ax