Highway Radio 104.9, technically amazing 🤩. Content not bad either

From the southern terminus of Highway 3 all the way up to Taichung including the Tunnels, I was given a clear signal for most of my journey. Actually the signal remained perfect except for some places where it sounded a bit “scratchy”.
A big question is how is this accomplished?
I’m a ham radio operator and radio dxer so I have some knowledge and can understand technical explanations.
I live by a full service station so that’s how I hear it every day. But here are my questions.
The terrain is pretty mountainous. I loose other stations quite a lot My guess is that they have transmitters at regular intervals along the highway.

But I thought this would not be possible with FM on the same frequency because the “capture effect” would have the two stations fighting each other where they would overlap.
On AM, I believed this would be no problem as illustrated by the fact I could hear the time stations, WWV in Colorado and WWVH in Hawaii simultaneously. Their signals mixed perfectly except that the man’s voice was a bit louder than the woman’s voice due to the fact I was closer to Colorado.
Maybe I misunderstand the idea of the capture effect. Maybe that scratchy period I mentioned was the area I was transitioning between transmitters.
I know, I could probably find all this info on line but it would mean a lot of searching and translation work.
Right now, I’m interested in the sharing of your theories and hearing your radio listening experiences.
I still prefer radio to internet and in my opinion, Highway Radio is better than icrt.
It’s nice to have one decent station for long haul driving.

1 Like

ICRT is like this last I checked. I believe they have a licence to broadcast from multiple towers nationwide.

Yeah at least three locations but on different dial settings. Except for Taipei and Kaohsiung maybe they don’t interfere with each other.