Hip-hop in Taiwan, should I bring a record crate?

Hello all,
I’ve recently gotten my visas/flights etc all completed and ready for departure on the 27th. Its exciting to be heading back to Asia and Taipei looks like an exciting city. I was wondering though if anyone has any information on the hip-hop scene? I’m a hip-hop DJ and producer and want to continue making music while there. One issue is that Im quite torn whether to bring my record crate or not? Or if anyone has experience with this? it is quite heavy and not much fun, esp. dragging all my other luggage around. Is it worthwhile, does anyone know if there is a vinyl rich scene or is it all CDs now?
Also, does anyone have any info on hip-hop in general in Taipei? websites? studios? clubs?etc.

Hopefully someone may have a few answers, if not, this looks like a cool website for expats to check out for info or ask any questions that might come up.

Are you from Canada?

sure am!

Ha, every Canadian in Taiwan is a DJ! Is DJing 101 a course requirement?? I have always wondered this.

I had no idea there were so many Canadian DJs,
at least not traveling to Taiwan!

so does that mean tehres opportunites for playing or theres a hundred million canadians walking around with demos? I don’t even Dj as much as produce records anymore, but I thought it would be fun to get back into spinning parties while there. Also like to meet some rappers oversees to work on music with!

No, not like in the west.

I’m totally not into hip-hop, but you could check recent posts in topic 43026 about vinyl.
http://www.forumosa.com/taiwan/viewtopic.php?t=43026

There’s this column in the Taipei times titled “World of Vinyl” or something, covering many music styles and what’s going on in these scenes, probably also hip-hop. I don’t know if this is on the online TT archive though.

I’ve met lots of Western DJs who play gigs in clubs here, but very few who make any real money out of it.