Historic Buildings in Taipei

Someone mentioned the lack of old buildings in Taipei in another thread and got me thinking. Of the handful historic buildings in the city, which ones do you appreciate? Have you discovered any old, historic buildings around town? Where is it located?

Though I’m no expert on the various architectural styles, I enjoy looking at old buildings. One of my fave is the old Land Bank across the 228 Park, a.k.a. New Park, on the corner of GuanQian and XiangYang Rd. It’s a stone monolith done in the classical Greek style. The thing looks like something you’d see at the Acropolis. Sometimes I just stand across the street and behold its beauty, but the passersby seem to give it little attention. Any others?

chilian (Qili’an) subway station, after getting off cross the street towards the mountain and walk straight up the lane next to the mountain, it’s a whole row of old-style taiwanese houses, too close to the mountain to ever be rebuilt i guess. there’s a franganpani tree next to the park entrance, nice.

I guess the old buildings in this town are few and far between given the lack of response here. Thanks dalton for not leaving me hanging.

Does anyone know if there’s any connection between the two Hong-Lo (red tower)? I’m referring to that octagonal brick building behind the Tower Records in Ximending and that three-story brick building (now a restaurant) perched on a hill in Danshui. Both are called HongLo. Both are around a century old and nicely restored.

The one in Danshui is called Hongmaocheng I think. Dihua Street is good for old buildings, especially the northern part of it.

No, Hongmaocheng, a.k.a. San Domingo Fort, is located on the outskirts of the town. It was built by the Spaniards in the 17th century. The Honglo I mentioned is located in the heart of the town. You turn into a tiny alley, go up some stairs and you’ll find it up on a hill. It’s a much younger building than San Domingo.