How can I become a Taiwanese Citizen

I’ve only just started researching this stuff so please excuse my ignorance.

My gf and I want to move to Taiwan when we graduate. Her parents and sister live there and she is a citizen.

I would like to move there with her and teach English using my BA which i am studying for.

From what I’ve read it seems that the best way to get secured over there is to become a citizens so that I can get a Residency Work Permit.

If I marry my GF will I have to wait 5 years to become a citizen or is it automatic? Also if its not automatic what kind of permit and visa do I need? Also will I need to be leaving the country periodicly to renew the visa?

I know its a lot of questions but it would really be helpful if you could help.

Thanks a lot!

-IAN-

After you’re married you (can) get a resident visa based on Joining family. When you have that you can continuosly stay (you just need to renew it every 1/3 years). After 5 years you can get an APRC/Passport, but that’s five+ years away. No need to think about that too much now. :wink:

If you do get married, take the time to figure out all the proper paper work you’d need to bring when coming over (there are some really good threads about that around here somewhere).

Paperwork won’t be as hard as buying a diamond ring, hahaha! So I guess being married would make things a lot easier for me. It seems really scary to have to deal with renewing visiting visas and illegal working conditions. I’m not brave enough for all that, not yet at least.

If I can get the residency visa I would feel a lot more comfortable moving there.

Thanks a lot for helping!

-IAN-

If you become a citizen, scary dealing with renewing visas and illegal working conditions will be replaced by scary renunciation of your original citizenship and possibly scary military draft. (Unless you look Taiwanese, then you can have both citizenships).

Just sayin’.

How/why does that work?