How do I bring my Indian partner to Taiwan?

HI all.

I am a complete newbie here.
My daughter and I are coming to Taiwan in November. My daughter is going to school and I am going to teach.

My partner is back in India awaiting his Indian passport. He and I aren’t married.
I want to bring him to Taiwan and need to know if we need to get legally married before he can come live with us or if, once i get my ARC, I can sponsor him as family. If we could do it that way, could we marry here? Could he legally work here? If we needed to go to Thailand for marriage, could he get a visa from the embassy there?

Thanks so much. I have no idea who to call or email about this.

[quote=“Yeshi51”]My partner is back in India awaiting his Indian passport. He and I aren’t married. I want to bring him to Taiwan and need to know if we need to get legally married before he can come live with us or if, once i get my ARC, I can sponsor him as family. If we could do it that way, could we marry here? Could he legally work here? If we needed to go to Thailand for marriage, could he get a visa from the embassy there?[/quote]Yes, you need to be legally married in order to sponsor him for an JFRV ARC after you have your employment based ARC. Other than “legally married”, what other married conditions are there? Common law? If you are able to sponsor him for a JFRV ARC he will not be allowed to work, only reside with you in Taiwan as a JFRV sponsored by a foreigner doesn’t give unrestricted work rights to their spouse. You can get married in Taiwan at any Household Registration Office, but that’s not going to make the process for getting the JFRV ARC for your soon to be spouse any quicker. Don’t forget about the “not allowed to work” part of your spouse’s JFRV.

Two foreigners can marry in the household registration office?