How do I get into acting in Taiwan?

Hello,

I’m a 18-year old exchange student from Quebec and I’m actually studying in high school in Taipei ( even though I’m in college in Canada the program puts exchange students in high school ). Since I feel kind of old with 15-year old kids, I was looking for a way to meet new people. One thing I really miss over here is acting… I’ve done musical for 3 years and done several plays, I also teach drama and I auditionned to be on a Tv-show in Quebec, but instead of making the show I’ve decided to come here to learn Chinese… I was wondering if there was any way I could do acting over here ? I speak French, English, Spanish and slowly learning Chinese… If you have any tip, or have heard about anything, please let me know! I really miss the stage … Or if there are any other people in my situation, let me know… we could try to find a way to do something!

thanks a lot!

Valerie

Phhshawww! Don’t know if there’s anyone here that can help. Not!

Our esteemed moderator herself has her finger in more thespian pies than you can shake a stick at. Alien? of the Taipei Aliens Dramatic Society? Where art thou?

Valerieqc,

Not sure if you would be interested in dance at all, there is a large company in Taipei called Cloud Gate, I used to have a friend who was in it, but not sure if I still have his number, he may be able to hook you up or you may just call over to the studio yourself and see what they can cook up for you.

Talk about overkill! Read her post, Jeff. She’s still in school, looking to meet some people and maybe do a bit of acting in her spare time.

Don’t you think she just might be a tiny little bit embarrassed/out of her depth when she trips lightly across to Cloud Gate only to find that they’re an internationally renowned, fully professional dance troupe with a rigorous touring schedule that lasts for a large part of the year and an even more rigorous practice schedule?