How do you modify software?

I have purchased a software program that I really like for $20 (Fitday), but it has two drawbacks:

1. You can’t switch the measurements to metric.
  2. The bar graphs give a visual representation of the calories you have eaten and burned, but I’d like to see the actual numerical figure within the individual bars themselves (for more precision, like).

The company does not plan on offering these two wrinkles to their program, so it got me to wondering: Are there programming whizzes out there who modify things like this? If so, are there intarweb places where people go to put out these types of requests? If so, would this kind of service be very expensive?

usually a software has to be “open source” if you want to be able to do anything with it like changing its aspect, adding some functions… in the case of this application, it’s not possible because it is commercial and thus closed source.

I’m no expert on calories and diet. Does your program have a listing of many foods and calories and what not. If, so it will be hard to emulate.

If not, it’s probably some simple equations you can do in Excel. There are also many free sites on the web that deal with this topic.
Good luck.

I just looked at the site… it is a pretty neat program. I a saw you that their looking for affiliates and agents. Get a bunch of fat foreigners to ask for the program. I’m sure that is would not be a very hard programming change if there are enough customers to make it worth thier while.

Perhaps you did not get through to a software engineer and just got a lowly customer support agent. We Americans are lazy… we won’t look up the answer.