How important is a TEFL certificate?

i will first give a little bit of information about my situation, that might explain things. iam currently in my final year of studies for my economics degree. i have been wanting to go teach english for years, and now its close to happening. i wont be going till around the begining of november since i want to work and save up some money first. since my degree is economics and not teaching how hard will it be to teach?
this brings me to the TEFL certificate. i can take a program to get it which lasts about a week. i wonder how good that is, how practical is it and relevent to teaching english. i dont want to take the course if its a waste of time and money. i read peoples posts about having to do lesson plans etc and it makes me think i should take the program so i will learn what to do. after all, these people pay good money to learn and i dont want to be some bum walking off the street just wanting to make a quick buck at their expense. but how much is on the job learning and how much do you learn from the course? i ask these questions because i know of some people who have gone to teach without a TEFL certificate or even a university degree. thanks for your help with this, hopefully i wont get too many negative responses.

Your questions and concerns have been discussed thoroughly in this forum. Mostly, it depends on … what sort of teaching you want to do, whether you believe being credentialed makes you a better teacher, how long you plan to be an English teacher here and elsewhere…

I haven’t found any consensus here that points to a definitive answer about credentials. As you pointed out, there’s people who teach English here who haven’t a whole lot of credentials and they do alright. Then you have those who take a more professional and long term view on their teaching careers and find credentialing an important consideration. YMMV.

Hi Troy,