How long is one allowed to study Chinese in Taiwan?

I’m getting conflicting information on this question. My teacher at Tamkang’s language department says a student can study Chinese for three years. Some other students at different schools (Shi Da, for one) say only two years. When I got to Taiwan, my first teacher told me that one could stay indefinitely, as long as one kept changing schools, and that she knew a Japanese guy who had been here over 10 years doing just that. I don’t know what to believe.

My goal is to attend university here, but I feel I need at least one more year of language study before I do that. I want to pursue a degree in Chinese language (although at times I think I should just enroll in the English department and breeze through classes, ha), and I hope to eventually work as a translator, maybe an English teacher, not sure.

I arrived March 21, 2005. I studied Chinese at CLD Perfect through May 28, when they got kicked off the government’s list. I took a six-month break from studying and just left Taiwan once a month, so during that time I had no visa, no ARC. I got a new visa in November 2006 and am now studying at Tamkang, and I will apply for a new ARC in March. Will the government consider that I only began studying in November 2006 and start counting time from that date, or will they add in the one year plus that I had before?

I’m not sure if I will need to apply to Tamkang University by the April 30 deadline, or if I will be able to continue my Chinese studies throughout 2007 and apply at Tamkang next year. I suppose I’ll be OK in classes if I have to start earlier than I wanted, since many are taught in English, but I’d surely prefer to wait until I feel more comfortable with Chinese. I still suck at understanding when people talk to me.