How much money should a new arrival bring to taiwan?

Hello, I plan to come to Taiwan this summer to teach English. I’ve seen jobs advertised and even had a few offers, but it seems like you can get a better contract by being in Taiwan already. Eg. The contracts Shane’s or Hess offer compared with the vacancies I see on tealits.

I was just wondering how much money I should save before coming? For costs I figure maybe $30k for finding a room plus deposit, $20k for a hostel when I first arrive (?), $10k for travelling to interviews, but then food and bills I am not sure. Im an experienced and qualified teacher, but I don’t know how fast I can expect to find a job.

Also slightly related, I understand an onward flight is required for entry sometimes. Would it be okay to just have a cheap HK flight rather than a ticket all the way back to the UK?

Things have probably changed since I got here, and anyway what happened back then is all a foggy blur now, but here are some threads that discuss the issue:

forumosa.com/taiwan/viewtopi … 8#p1479808

forumosa.com/taiwan/viewtopi … 6#p1001706

forumosa.com/taiwan/viewtopi … 9#p1217309

forumosa.com/taiwan/viewtopi … 6#p1139976

Maybe someone will come along later with something more helpful.

I got by on less than 3,000 U.S. but that was 14 years ago. (actually, I had more but I figured that if I couldn’t do it in 3K, I was outa here. I think I spent about 2k before I got a good job at a decent school.) Things are tougher these days and that dream teaching job is much more elusive. Ya, you can find a job and have a heartbreak experience like you have read about on this site. I suggest at least 6,000 U.S and look around. Always have enough in your pocket to get back home. DON’T GET STRANDED.
Check into a cheap hotel with WiFi and start a search. It’s not like it was years ago. Decent gigs are rare and scams aplenty. Watch your 6 and good luck.

Here are a couple of threads that mention onward tickets/flights to Hong Kong: