How to eat healthy and cheap?

Hello,

I’m an exchange student and I will stay in Taipei for a year, my focuses are: improve my mandarin, pass my semester, do a lot of sport.
I arrived a week ago, and after couchsurfing for 5 days, I finally found a cheap but basic room for summer (I will move out end of august to the BOT dorms that are fully furnished)

In this summer room I don’t have a kitchen, or a fridge. What is my best option to eat a lot and healthy without ruining myself? I’m trying to create good habits, and I don’t think my current noodle/baozi every meal is that good…

Everyone says food is cheap in Taiwan. However back at home I spent less than here because I was cooking (I spend at least 400 per day here, less than 150 per day back in france)

I do 2 hours of sport per day so I need easily 3500 calories daily…I feel like I eat twice as much as my taiwanese friends
Thanks

Look for a zi4zhu4can1 self-serve cafeteria near where you live; good ones have a wide variety of vegetables and wu3gu3 (five grain) rice, and aren’t expensive. But you’re not going to get 3500 healthy calories for 150 NT. Perhaps for 500NT.

If you can, I’d encourage you to get a small fridge for your place. Then you can supplement your meals with decent milk (such as 4 Ways, available at organic shops such as Santa Cruz and others) and Taiwan’s excellent fruits.

If you’re near NTU, you might also consider the small but excellent organic market held on Saturdays starting at 1:00. You can find it next to the Gongguan Water Park and directly across from NTU’s Shuiyuan BOT complex on Siyuan Street.

I hope this helps!

Guy

Cross-posted here: reddit.com/r/taiwan/comments … and_cheap/