How to get married to a Taiwanese guy?

Hello there, I am totally new to this subject and don’t really understand a lot of what you guys are talking about…
Maybe someone can explain me the procedure of getting married to a Taiwanese guy? What kind of formalities and bumf do we have to go through in Taiwan and what would be the foreign spouses’ rights?

Thanks

You should get married in the country of the foreign spouse.

You will need to get a Clean Criminal Record Documentation from your home country, and all marriage documents, and everything certified at the nearest ROC Overseas Representative Office.

That is for starters.

You mean, we should not get married in Taiwan, but overseas?

what would be all marriage documents?

Answer - That piece of paper you sign when you get married.

Michelle, if you read some of the previous threads on this topic, you’d learn quite a bit. This link is from one marriage thread. Read the second post by Hartzel.

http://oriented.org/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic&f=36&t=000014

thanks amos, the problem is, that i’d have to read a loooooot and that generally it is foreign guys who get married to taiwanese girls and not the other way around like in my case…
anybody got any experience with that?

btw, of course i know, what a marriage certificat is, but hartzell was talking about the documents needed to get married…

It doesn’t matter whether the foreign spouse is male or female. The procedure is the same.

To be on the safe side, you should get a “single certificate” before getting married, and get that certified at the ROC Overseas Office as well.

“Marriage documentation” includes the marriage certificate, and all receipts and other paperwork.

I wouldn’t recommend the procedure, but…