How to get used to "think" in chinese

I’ve been studying chinese just for 3 months and I’m approaching my first big exam at the University.
I’m Italian and have lived for 2 years in Australia, I’ve been speaking english since I was 5. The main problem I’m having with chinese is that my brain is not set up to use it as a 24/7 language, probably because I’ve not been studying it long enough.

When I want to uso my mother language (italian), i think in italian
When I have to use english, I think in english
When i have to use chinese, i think in italian and then translate it to chinese

Which is not too bad for everyday’s life, but becomes extremely frustrating during exams such as listening and writing.

Teacher says (in chinese): “Miss Wang thinks that Mr Zhang’s wife is a great chef!”
Me:“Uhm…ok…got the meaning. Now let’s write it down. “Miss Wang thinks”…ok, I know how to write that…wait what was the name of the dude…damn…oh I think it was…”
Teacher proceeds to read the second sentence.
Me:“Urgh…”

Has everyone experienced the same and how did you get over it? I guess it’s just a matter of practicing, but if you combine the difficulty in actually understanding what people say, followed by trying to remember each stroke in each character…ugh, I need a hug.

:hubba:

Matter of practicing… I think…

When I was learning English I used to try to think in English. I would use words I know, and when I ran into words or grammar that I don’t know, I mmm~ mmmed through them in my mind to go with the flow of English, and pretended they were right.

That way when I learned the correct way to use them, it became pretty easy to just plug them in and replace the mmm~mmms.