How to interpret the signals?

Hi Everyone,

Before I begin to explain the situation, let me tell you a little bit of my background. I’m a Taiwanese born in Taiwan, but went to study in the U.S. when I was 16 and spent six years there. I was such a “good student” in Taiwan (by local standard, at least, which means studying all day with little interaction with others = poor interpersonal skills) and only got better when I came to the States. Which means that most of the social interactions I’m used to are American ones, and that I know nothing about Taiwanese social interactions rules.

While at Taiwan, I work as an English/math/science tutor for rich families’ children who attend bilingual schools. I majored in math and physics in college and am planning to become a high school physics teacher. The tutoring experience in Taiwan is somewhat helpful, however I am getting frustrated at my student’s performance and beginning to doubt my ability to teach.

While working as an English tutor for a 4th grade girl, I became acquainted with the math tutor, Mr. Wu, who teaches the little girl’s brother the same time as I. We’ll occasionally exchange a word or two when we bump into each other before/after lessons. After getting very frustrated about my teaching in math, I decide to ask Mr. Wu advice by asking him out for lunch. I already have a boyfriend of three years that I plan to marry, and I have mentioned him a couple times in chatting with Mr. Wu. So I think both he and I are clear that the lunch meeting is just going to be a meeting between friends and nothing else.